

## THE UNITED STATES VIRGIN ISLANDS

OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR
GOVERNMENT HOUSE

Charlotte Amalie, V.I. 00802
340-774-0001

March 1, 2016

Eileen Sobeck Assistant Administrator for Fisheries 1315 East -West Highway Silver Spring Metro Building #3, 14<sup>th</sup> Floor Silver Spring, MD 20910

Dear Ms. Sobeck:

I am honored to submit for your consideration three nominations to fill the "at-large" seat on the Caribbean Fisheries Management Council (CFMC). The following names are submitted in order of priority: Mr. Louis A. Blanchard, Mr. Daryl A. Bryan, and Mr. Julian E. Magras.

Mr. Louis A. Blanchard has 33 years of experience as a commercial fisherman. He serves as President of the St. Thomas/St. John Fish Trap Reduction Steering Committee and Appeals Board. He is also a member of the St. Thomas/St. John Spiny Lobster Management Committee and the St. Thomas/St. John Fisherman's Association. Mr. Blanchard is an expert on the Virgin Islands fishery and plays an active role in its preservation. Mr. Blanchard, through his various roles and interaction, acts as a major resource of information to both commercial and recreational fishers.

Mr. Daryl A. Bryan serves as the Vice President of the St. Thomas/St. John Fish Trap Reduction Steering Committee and Appeals Board. He is member of the St. Thomas/St. John Spiny Lobster Management Committee and the St. Thomas/St. John Fisherman's Association. He participated in various National Oceanic Atmospheric Administration funded research projects and is a member of the CFMC-District Advisory Panel Committee.

Mr. Julian E. Magras has over 30 years of experience as a commercial fisherman. Mr. Magras serves as Secretary of the St. Thomas/St. John Fish Trap Reduction Steering Committee and Appeals Board. He is member of the St. Thomas/St. John Spiny Lobster Management Committee, the St. Thomas/St. John Fisherman's Association and CFMC-District Advisory Panel Committee.

I have submitted a list of nominees that are more than capable of addressing the fishery management concerns of the Virgin Islands. The nominees are all residents of the Virgin Islands and are eligible and willing to serve. Documents are enclosed for each candidate. Should you have any questions, please submit them to Dawn Henry, Esq., Commissioner of the Department of Planning and Natural Resources via email: dawn.henry@dpnr.vi.gov or by telephone at (340) 774-3320.

I sincerely appreciate the opportunity to have my nominees considered.

Sincerely,

Kenneth E. Mapp

Governor

cc: Alan Risenhoover, Director, Office of Sustainable Fisheries